Government, including the Department of Justice, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, the Departments of National Defence, Citizenship and Immigration, Mines and Technical Surveys, National Revenue, Transport, Post Office, Agriculture, Fisheries, Public Works and the Unemployment Insurance Commission also maintain offices in the Yukon Territory.*

Northwest Territories.—As reconstituted on Sept. 1, 1905, these comprise: (1) all that part of Canada north of the 60th parallel of north latitude, except the portions thereof within the Yukon Territory and the Provinces of Quebec and Newfoundland; and (2) the islands in Hudson Bay, James Bay and Ungava Bay, except those islands within the Provinces of Manitoba, Ontario and Quebec.

The Northwest Territories Act (RSC 1952, c. 331) provides for the appointment of a Commissioner to administer the government of the Territories under instructions given from time to time by the Governor in Council or the Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources. As a matter of practice, the appointment is held by the Deputy Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources. The Northwest Territories Act, as amended, also provides for a Council of nine members, four of whom are elected in the Mackenzie District and five of whom are appointed by the Governor in Council. The Commissioner in Council has legislative powers respecting such matters as direct taxation, establishment and tenure of Territorial offices, municipal institutions, controverted elections, licences, incorporation of companies, property and civil rights, administration of justice, game, education, hospitals and generally all matters of a local or private nature. The Council meets once each year in the Territories and at least once each year in Ottawa, which is the seat of government. The resources, except game, remain under the control of the Federal Government. The administration of legislation passed by the Commissioner in Council and the management of resources under federal legislation are conducted by the Northern Administration Branch of the Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources. Administrative offices are located at a number of centres in the Territories including Fort Smith, Yellowknife, Hay River, Inuvik and Frobisher Bav.

COUNCIL OF THE NORTHWEST TERRITORIES (as at Jan. 31, 1962)

 Commissioner
 R. G. Robertson

 Deputy Commissioner
 W. G. Brown

Members of the Council—

Appointed. W. G. Brown, D. M. Coolican, L. A. Desrochers,
H. M. Jones and I. Norman Smith

Elected. A. P. Carey, E. J. Gall, J. W. Goodall and K. H. Lang

Section 3.—Municipal Government†

The British North America Act of 1867 placed municipal government in Canada under the control of the provincial legislatures. The powers and responsibilities of municipalities are those delegated to them by statutes passed by their respective provincial legislatures. Some of these statutes apply to all municipalities within a province, some to a certain type or group and many to one municipality only. The types of municipal organization in existence, and the nature of the municipal services provided, vary greatly

^{*} Further information on officials of various Federal Government departments serving Yukon Territory may be obtained from the Director, Northern Administration Branch, Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources, Ottawa.

[†] Prepared in the Public Finance and Transportation Division, Dominion Bureau of Statistics.